Petition to: Create a Pedestrian Crossing at the dangerous crossing point by the railway bridge on Saltbox Road, so that pedestrians may safely access Whitmoor Common via the public footpath.

This petition is now closed, as its deadline has passed.

We the undersigned petition Surrey County Council to Create a Pedestrian Crossing at the dangerous crossing point by the railway bridge on Saltbox Road, so that pedestrians may safely access Whitmoor Common via the public footpath. More details

Petition update 2 from the council, 30 March 2021

The Committee would like to thank the lead petitioner Mr Bambrough for presenting the petition on behalf of the local residents.

In 2014, the pedestrian/horse path on Salt Box Road next to the railway bridge, on both sides of the carriageway, was extended. Before the fence on the south side of the road was introduced, pedestrians used to cross the road immediately next to the bridge. The path was extended, by 80m, and a wooden fence was installed to improve safety for pedestrians crossing the road along bridleway 434.

The existing path, along the road, can be extended to the west allowing better visibility for pedestrians seeing vehicles coming from the direction of the bridge (easterly direction). Similarly, drivers will have an improved sightline and will be able to see pedestrians crossing the road.

As a result of this petition and the local residents’ concerns, this proposal will be placed on the current running list for further consideration.

Petition update 1 from the council, 14 December 2020, while petition was still open

This petition has met the relevant criteria to be considered by the Guildford Joint Committee. It will be presented to the Joint Committee on 17th March 2021 at its next formal meeting, which will be held remotely using MS Teams. The Committee will consider the petition and the officer response at the meeting. You are more than welcome to attend and listen to the debate if you would like to - it will be webcast live and the link will be provided via this page nearer the time https://mycouncil.surreycc.gov.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?CId=751&MId=7463&Ver=4.

More details from petition creator

We would like to petition the council to provide a safe crossing point in the form of a Pedestrian Crossing on the busy and dangerous road which pedestrians must cross to access Whitmoor Common via the public footpath from Grange Road.

The current crossing point poses a real concern for public safety and I think it is fair to say it is no exaggeration when I say there is a genuine risk to life for all who would attempt crossing there.

The issue is the close proximity of the railway bridge to the crossing which creates a blind bend offering no way for pedestrians to see oncoming traffic, or indeed for motorists travelling at 40mph to see a pedestrian who may be in the road before it is too late.

If left unaddressed, there is no doubt that this crossing could become the scene of a road traffic collision with deadly consequences for any pedestrian and/or motorist involved; particularly as it is a popular route for dog walkers and families with young children to frequent.

Current signatories

Michael Bambrough, the petition creator, joined by:

  • Xena Tibi
  • Jo Martin
  • Natasha Hill
  • Ritch Ames
  • Emma Sheriff
  • Amy Thursfield
  • Sarah Plender
  • Paul Jolley
  • Tracey Geaves
  • Lynette Holton
  • Zoe Chadd
  • Lindsey Roche
  • Tim salter
  • Alan Turner
  • Karina Oakley
  • Toni O'Sullivan
  • Louise Pembroke
  • Ian Copp
  • Lisa Rixon
  • Meriel Leyland
  • Catherine Morton
  • Jessica Cull
  • Rachelle Franklin
  • Cheryl Hankin
  • Joe Fitzhugh
  • Elisa Perez
  • Elisabeth Wright
  • Stefanie Verdorfer
  • Bruce Holton
  • Emma Cappello
  • Ralph Peter
  • Rachel Bambrough
  • James O'Sullivan
  • Eleanor March
  • Louise Powell
  • Diana Heffernan
  • Katie Holloman
  • Anthony Drapos
  • Emma Adams
  • Matthew Strange
  • Ian chadd
  • Nicholas Holloway
  • Helen Osborne
  • Gwen folland
  • Nicola Bird
  • Alexandra Smith
  • Mollie Smith
  • Honey Dearsley
  • Maria Maguire
  • Curtis Smith
  • Paul Gisby
  • Dinah Bisdee
  • Philip George Maguire
  • Laura Johnson
  • Tom Key
  • Fotini Stamou
  • Ben Parer
  • Fraser McArthur
  • Amy McDonald
  • Linda Joubert
  • Paul Mackie
  • Rebecca Christmas
  • Valeria Salgado
  • Rosa Jones
  • Sarah Jones
  • Jennifer Wornham
  • Tim Cooke
  • Davinia Simpson
  • Alfie Simmons
  • Serena Chandler
  • Emma Waterhouse
  • Mia iles
  • Cynthia Silva
  • linda tillett
  • Jonathan Psul
  • alisonCovele@hotmail.com
  • Charlotte Hussey
  • Sarah Hayward
  • Philip banfield
  • Anna Deegan
  • Zoe Varns
  • Patricia Hicks
  • Helen Cook
  • Christo Joubert
  • Paulina Ritchie
  • Frances Miles
  • Fiona Wadie
  • Noelia Noel
  • Alessia Gualandris
  • Sue Cooper
  • James DAVIES
  • Tracy Labinjo
  • Anna McConnell
  • Sahar Sahar Tahouri
  • Amy Phillips .
  • Eduardo Luis Legname
  • Susan Saunders
  • Megan Taylor
  • Simon Buzza
  • Neil O'Brien
  • Leigh swanborough
  • Sally Bookham
  • Boris Johnson
  • Anne Smith
  • Bonnie Scott
  • Debby Nash
  • Lynne Wilkinson
  • Martin Peel
  • Tina Warner
  • Colin Wright
  • Carol Buchan
  • Andrea Fortini
  • Alison Boulton
  • Jessica Oliphant
  • Janet Milner
  • Stephen Milner
  • Giles Forrest
  • Donna Shrubb
  • Beth Newman
  • Dan Moran
  • John Appleby
  • Dave Simpson
  • Elspeth Rijbroek
  • Nirmal Misra
  • Suresh Kannan
  • brenda godley
  • Nivedita Misra
  • Johanne smart
  • Nigel Bundy
  • Michelle Baeten
  • Janet Sowton
  • Elizabeth Burley
  • Richard Nettleship
  • Nathan Burley
  • Andrea Lewis
  • Simon Firth
  • Josephine Hearn
  • Jean Melling
  • David Sowton
  • Robert Dlugokecki