Skip to main content

Petition to: Improve road safety outside Danesfield Manor School, Rydens Avenue, Walton on Thames

This petition is now closed, as its deadline has passed.

We the undersigned petition Surrey County Council to Improve road safety outside Danesfield Manor School, Rydens Avenue, Walton on Thames. More details

Petition update 2 from the council, 07 May 2020

Dear Petitioner

Unfortunately as a result of the Covid-19 outbreak it was not possible to hold the meeting of the Elmbridge Local Committee at which the petition was to be considered. However in line with the county Council's agreed remote meeting protocol some decisions were made by officers in consultation with members of the Committee under delegated powers. The decisions in relation to the petition can be viewed here

Nicola Morris, Partnership Committee Officer

Petition update 1 from the council, 24 February 2020, while petition was still open

Dear petitioners

This petition has met the relevant criteria to be considered by the Local Committee (Elmbridge). This will be presented to the Local Committee on Tuesday 17 March 2020 at 4pm which will be held at Elmbridge Civic Centre in Esher. The Committee will consider the petition and the officer response at the meeting. You are more than welcome to attend and listen to the debate if you would like to. The agenda will be available about a week before the meeting

Nicola Morris, Partnership Committee Officer,

More details from petition creator

We, the parents, residents and concerned members of this community are urging Surrey County Council to assess the lack of road safety measures outside Danesfield Manor School, Rydens Avenue, Walton on Thames.

It is becoming increasingly dangerous for our children making their daily journeys to and from school. It is indeed an accident waiting to happen. Therefore we would like the council to implement improved road safety to provide our school children, our neighbours and the wider community with the safer environment they deserve.

We are petitioning Surrey County Council to consider all options that will increase the safety of the road outside Danesfield Manor School. These measures may include but are not limited to:

1) Signage to warn drivers that they are approaching a school 2) Reduced speed limit in vicinity of school 3) Signage to indicate that children are crossing 4) Introduction of speed bumps 5) Consideration of a zebra crossing outside of the school gates

Current signatories

LISA JORDAN, the petition creator, joined by:

  • Mrs J Smith
  • Gavin whitlock
  • Caroline Quinton
  • Wendy Luiz
  • Dominic Luxton
  • Kieran Charnock
  • Matt Cobden
  • Katherine Luxton
  • Rebecca Ware
  • Eve Delaney
  • Clare Owens
  • Kate Wells
  • Jemma Jones
  • Kristine Kruk
  • Hannah Gilmour
  • Rachel Cook
  • Tom Owens
  • Melanie Bowler
  • Jane Chambers
  • sonia cresswell
  • Georgina Cox
  • Babis Kalenderidis
  • Pedro Costa
  • Mrs A Shaylor
  • Rosalind Vamvadelis
  • John Vamvadelis
  • Nikki Dunthorne
  • Stuart Cloete
  • Joanna Unnithan
  • Daniel Webster
  • Sarah Carr-Gomm
  • William Averall
  • Xiaojin Xu
  • John Leighton
  • Natalie Hegarty
  • Barbara Ingram
  • Paul Reynolds
  • Dominic Palmer
  • Tej Patel
  • Selim Cavanagh
  • Laura Cavanagh
  • Andrew Mahood
  • Giles Jones
  • Santinon Elisa
  • Sophie Taylor
  • Sharli Patel
  • Virginie Behier Tull
  • Gemma Mitchell
  • Sheena Prema
  • Siobhan Donachy
  • George Ridd
  • Alison McConnachie
  • Ruth Gazzelloni
  • Daniel Gazzelloni
  • Richard Tull
  • Riaan Muller
  • James Powell
  • Laura Hood
  • Lindsay Sherwood
  • Clare Ridd
  • Michelle Laing
  • Cameron Freeman
  • Paul Gibbs
  • Richard mortimer
  • Nikki Straker
  • Bruce Laing
  • Richard Drew
  • Stephanie Brillouet
  • Chevonese Gilhooly
  • Bernice Watson
  • Sharli patel
  • Alena Sugareva
  • Jon Tanner
  • Sara Bertuglia
  • Carol Price
  • Caroline Clark
  • Jo Wall
  • Zuzana salem
  • Sargon Isaac
  • Nino Meladze
  • Vik Ramparsad
  • Karan Sofat
  • Tammy van Lit
  • Catherine McCormick
  • Bridget fox
  • Elaine James
  • Natalie Herbert
  • Michelle Cook
  • Trudy Gray
  • Jason sadler
  • Linda Banner
  • Peng Li
  • Annie Ridd
  • Kerry Webb
  • Anna Simms
  • Sarah Munro
  • Mrs M Brattisani
  • Nylesh Prema
  • Florencia Zoccola
  • Nicola Webster
  • Danny Joseph
  • Margaret Kinniburgh
  • Zurab Baramidze
  • Bhupi kondel
  • Geraint Williams
  • Ozuola Martins
  • Jacqueline Palmer
  • Kerry Reddin
  • Jenny Kalenderidis
  • Yemi Solaja
  • Michelle Rutter
  • Lizzy Lenferna de la Motte
  • Susan Childs
  • Annaliese Hemsley
  • Deborah
  • Updated: 16 Jul 2020