Skip to main content

Petition to: mitigate the effects increase in lorry traffic on the A245 Byfleet Road by lowering the speed limit to 40 mph

This petition is now closed, as its deadline has passed.

We the undersigned petition Surrey County Council to mitigate the effects increase in lorry traffic on the A245 Byfleet Road by lowering the speed limit to 40 mph. More details

Petition update 2 from the council, 12 October 2018

Dear Petitioner

The petition was considered at the Elmbridge Local Committee on 24 September.

The report can be viewed via this link.

The Committee agreed to wait for the outcome of a review of the speed limit in this area, which Highways England has been asked to carry out as part of the work planned to improve junction 10 of the M25.

Nicola Morris
Partnership Committee Officer Elmbridge and Epsom & Ewell

Petition update 1 from the council, 23 July 2018

This petition has met the relevant criteria to be considered by the Local Committee (Elmbridge). This will be presented to the Local Committee on 24 September at 4pm which will be held at Elmbridge Civic Centre in Esher. The Committee will consider the petition and the officer response at the meeting. You are more than welcome to attend and listen to the debate if you would like to.

The officer response will be published about a week before the meeting and can be accessed via this link

Please contact if you require further information.

More details from petition creator

Recently , since the opening of a new depo in Brooklands , there has been an increase in the number of lorries travelling at speed along the A245 Byfleet Road.This is especially a problem at night time when the roads are less busy and the lorries appear not to adhere to the speed limit (50mph).The road surface is degraded and the noise of lorries travelling at speed over potholes is intrusive.In addition we have reported damage to two Thames Water manhole covers in the last month.We would like to see measures taken to mitigate these issues such as lowering the speed limit to 40 mph and or other traffic calming measures

Current signatories

DR J L HORGAN, the petition creator, joined by:

  • Carolyn Wilder
  • Harriet Sharman
  • Megan Horgan
  • Natalie Bentley
  • Robert Bentley
  • Anthony Bentley
  • Anthony Bentley
  • C gregory
  • Michael powell
  • David Wilder
  • Tania Pressdee
  • david howell
  • Sandi Beaumont
  • vicki brown
  • Lynne Major
  • michael young
  • Anita Ahmed
  • Caroline dixon
  • Sally Smith
  • Aine Hanley
  • tina duchacek
  • Beverley Preece
  • Gunjan Sahajwala
  • Sebastian Debertrand
  • Jane chrysostomou
  • Julie Holloway
  • Cara Walters
  • Rebecca Morris
  • George Butcher
  • Philip chrysostomou
  • Updated: 26 May 2019